top of page

DEB REVIEWS DRAG RACE ALL STARS EPISODE 7

In honour of this week's comedy theme, I would like to open with a joke:

Q: Why did the notebook cross the road?
A: To escape blair st.clair

Drag race is uncomfortable at the best of times, there's always some terrible acting, bad choreo, or some totally mispronounced lyrics. But as always, it's the standup comedy that REALLY takes the biggest slice of the cringe cake, Bleghh! I don't know it's because I'm an empath, but i cannot stand these challenges. They're good when they're good but when they're bad, I want to dislocate my limbs, fold my body in on itself just so that I can block out what I'm being subjected to. This week, my fears were made true for only a quarter of the runtime. For the other 3 quarters, I was mildly entertainted.

Obviously for this kind of challenge, all eyes are on Cracker. Is she funny? I don't know. People SAY she's funny a lot of the time. Has she made me guffaw recently? I liked that time she was on the BA test kitchen, but I feel like some of her magic was being the underdog of season 10 and sharing all that insider tea from Review with a Jew. Her tale was so tragic, another talent, falling vicitim to the inner saboteur. Oh wait she's back already and isn't this comedic legend we all thought. How unfortunate.

SOMEHOW she wins the challenge and lip syncs against Kennedy in what will go down as a colossal waste of one Kennedy Davenport. I love Reba, you have to stan a girl with her own line of lip glosses when she doesn't even HAVE a top lip of her own. But in the words of Bob the Drag Queen, Kennedy was walking on that stage like she was getting her steps in.

Blair St. Clair, I do declare! You are confident, talented, and fashionable but, you are not funny. And that's fine! What I do appreciate about Blair is her unwavering confidence, how she held her head high and I think tried very hard. Is she the future of drag? I'm not going to entertain that question cos it's stupid. All I know is that she will be in the future, she will be doing drag, and it will probably be great.

bottom of page